Express Yourself

For me, a day without creativity is pretty much wasted (unless I’m traveling and seeing new sights and even then I might be working on a Zentangle.)

I make greeting cards using Paper Wishes products and instructions. I love working with the pretty papers, the Dazzles©, and the “embellies” which are usually brads and thicker stickers, some of which you don’t really want to mail. I strive to make one card everyday or at least one every three days.

I also make digital scrapbook layouts. If all my digital supplies were physical, I couldn’t put them all in my craft room. I’d need the whole house to store them in.  But, being digital, I don’t have to worry about running out of a particular paper or ribbon nor do I need to worry about my Xacto® blades getting dull (or worry about cutting myself with the blades, either.) If I don’t like the particular color of an item, say a flower, I can change the color using Photoshop adjustments. With any luck, this month I’ll get caught up on all my cruise albums. I only have last year’s cruise to digitally scrapbook. I would like to work at least 1/2 to 1 hour every day on a project. It all depends on how much life gets in the way.

I also write. I write fantasy involving dragons, wizards, witches, familiars, the Phoenix, goblins, fairies, unicorns, and other mythical creatures, in a whole new world called Heartshorn. I’m in the process of plotting out my second book (revising the first one is still a work-in-progress.)

And I’m beginning to want to sew again.  So the craft room also has my mother’s Bernina Artista 200 serviced and waiting for me to start using after I find/buy the plain presser-foot for the machine.

How do you express yourself? Are you obsessed with learning everything you can about model railroading? Are you that go-to person for problems involving any Microsoft product? Do you carry a “real” camera with you every where you go (even if they’re not allowed but you have this neat micro camera built into a button on your shirt?) Maybe you carve wood, draw Anime characters, or paint. What’s your passion?

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt: Express Yourself

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 5, 2014, in General Musings, WP Daily Prompt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

Leave a Reply

