Deadlines/Schmedlines

First off, I’m retired so there aren’t many deadlines to bug me now and, of those, only one or two that I have to worry about – Income tax returns and my credit-card due dates. My husband (DH) takes care of all the other bills. That being said, there are a few things that one might consider deadlines and that is the various prompts and challenges I participate in. The WordPress Daily Prompts are a deadline of sorts and Lain Ehmann’s  LayOut-A-Day (LOAD) challenges when I sign up for them. The LOAD challenges are scrapbook-related. Lain will send out a prompt everyday related to the theme she has chosen and participants are to create and post one layout related to the prompt (or not if it doesn’t spark any creativity. You just have to make a new layout every day by midnight Pacific Time.) I’ve participated, and successfully completed, two so far – May 2013 when all the clues were based on the game of Clue – and February 2014 which were based on busting some scrapbooking myths (like every page has to have a picture or every page has to have journaling, etc.) All layouts are posted to a FLCKR account (see my layouts by clicking on the link to the left.) My solution to those deadlines is to complete the prompts/challenges as soon as possible in the morning. Since I am used to getting up between 4 and 5 and DH usually doesn’t get up until between 7 and 8, I have a pretty solid 2-4 hours of time to myself in the mornings. The only other deadlines I have are usually self-imposed and I know when I can let them slip. I’ll always catch my plane and make it to a doctor/dental appointment (always early!) About that Income Tax and credit card due dates – most of the time our taxes are done at least a week before they’re due – the toughest part is getting all the information organized – Turbo Tax does most of the work – I just have to input the data (that needed to be organized.) And credit-cards – I now have them scheduled, on my cell phone calendar, two or three days early) so I don’t miss the payment date. WP Daily Prompt Check these people out: Christina Designs Art Edward Hotspur, VernetteOutLoud, ViewSplash!,

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 8, 2014, in Scrapbooking, WP Daily Prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

Leave a Reply

