“What’s in a name?

that which we call a rose

By any other name would smell as sweet;” – Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet, Act II, Scene II lines 47-48.

The Daily Prompt seems a little late this morning and I’m really chomping to write. So I picked one out of the e-book from WP.

I was named after both my grandmothers. Francine, my maternal grandmother and Margarette, my paternal grandmother. Both by themselves are very nice names. But, my mother’s name is also Francine. She remembered all the years when her father would call to Francine and get the response, “Which one?”

So my parents were trying to figure out a nickname for me.

My father’s younger sister came up with combining the first syllable from Margarette with the second from Francine and got Marcine.  And so it was I became Marcine. When I started middle school I went by Francine; at home I was still Marcine.

Thankfully they didn’t go with Frangrette like my father wanted.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 11, 2014, in General Musings, WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

