You Sexy Thing

When I want to make an impression, a good one, I like to wear black and red.

I like a pair of red slacks.  I have two pairs right now, but I’d like to switch them out for at least one pair that fits me better. And they have to have at least three pockets – two on the front and one in the back (one in front for my cell-phone and the one in back for my pedometer.)

I have a black pull-over short sleeve sweater that hugs my body. I’d like a few more in other colors but this one is just perfect.

Shoes are a bit of a problem. I used to wear high heels fairly frequently but now my feet just won’t stand for it. So I have to wear either cross-trainers or some other tie or strapped flat. I have a pair of sturdy, good support,  MaryJanes in black leather that are my go-to shoe for “dressy occasions” but they’re not really very dressy. If I could find a pair in patent leather that would be great. And I have to have some kind of stocking on my feet in my shoes. If I’m wearing slacks, I can wear knee-highs, although they tend to bind at the knee so I pay for it later.

I seldom wear jewelry. As I’ve gotten older I don’t feel the need.  If I do, I either wear a pair of earrings from Claire’s that have stainless steel posts, or one of the gemstone pairs that I have. Some day I may buy some cultured pearls but at the moment I have none.

I always wear a wrist-watch, an analog wrist-watch. (Those are the ones with hands on them – you have to know how to tell time on a real, not digital, clock to know what time it is.  And I really like it if there are no numbers on the watch face either.  It’s just a small conceit on my part.) I have many, many watches. While I was working there was always someone selling Avon. When the latest catalog came out I would look at the new watches and frequently buy one or two. I suspect I have twenty or more.  My only complaint is the second strap-guide, the movable one,  would usually break after about three or four months of continuous wear and then the long part of the strap would stick out and get in the way. A lot of the times I would match the watch to my outfit or the season. (I’ve got a neat black cat watch for Halloween. And lots of others in all sorts of colors – including red.)

Now that I’m retired, I don’t need to make an impression. My husband loves me just the way I am and if others don’t like the way I dress (usually in jeans [different colors] and decorated t-shirts from our various vacations), then they don’t have to look at me. I dress for comfort and myself.

But, sometimes, I wish I had more occasions to dress up.

 

WP Daily Prompt: You Sexy Thing

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 15, 2014, in WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am also great fond of wrist watches but i don’t have so many, just 4.
    Good post anyway i like reading it,
    May Allah bless you and your husband.. and may you both love each other always.ameen

  2. I love watches, too! They are graceful & elegant…and fun, sometimes, too. >^^< You sound very well-clad & turned out…:) Red & black are exciting, bold colors. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Alone I’m Lost | Views Splash!

  2. Pingback: You Sexy Thing | My Atheist Blog

Leave a Reply

