When I was Sixteen

OMG! That was 54 years ago.  Let’s see – that might have been the year of the first mouse episode. I would have been half-way through my junior year in high school. I liked the guys but most didn’t necessarily like me. I didn’t have many girl friends. I might have started dating Ernie that year. He was a senior. One Friday or Saturday evening we had a date and he stood me up. I remember how mad/hurt I was. Mother was very quiet around me then and finally, around nine, she suggested I just go to bed. Ernie came over the next day. I was still mad, but I let him talk to me at the front door. He told me he and a friend had volunteered to help find a kid who’d gone off in the woods and didn’t come home. Considering we live in the mountains where bears and mountain lions hunt, rattlesnakes hide almost in plain sight and coyotes also roam,  it was a real worry. I think I’d heard something about a lost child – maybe read it in the local paper or heard it on the radio. So, immediately my anger disappeared. I hadn’t been stood up. And, since cell phones hadn’t been even thought of at that time, he couldn’t have called. The disappointment of a missed date, however, remains a bittersweet memory.

WP Daily Prompt

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 16, 2014, in WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I got stood up a couple of times. Only nobody was lost in the woods.

Leave a Reply

