Daily Prompt: What attracted you to your spouse/love?

I read Alienora’s blog on this subject and started to comment on it. But what started coming out of my “fingers” deserved to be on my blog.

He’s not my first husband; I had to find my children’s father first. But when I had my children and was free of him, I returned to the home of my youth. Even to the same building my parents brought me to when I was two (but not quite the same apartment.) There I met my soulmate.

When I first moved into the apartment complex, I met one of my neighbors, John (1),a single-man, but one who had a printer. I was going to college and, as is the usual in college,  had to write papers. But I really needed to see my words printed first so I could actually type the final draft.  This man had a friend, also named John (2), whom I met in February and then didn’t see again until sometime in the summer. He had gone away to a class in Florida concerning computers (this was in 1980 before the well-known desktop computers, so we’re talking about those large computers that need a room and dedicated power supply all to itself.) After returning to our town he started coming over to visit his friend every night.

Now I had talked with John-1 several times over the course of my college classes and he’d mentioned a friend who was married. Of course I thought he was talking about John-2 who came over every evening.

I was in the process of getting my divorce from the father of my children, or as they like to refer to him now, “sperm donor,” when my furniture arrived from Virginia so I’d moved a few doors further down in the complex from John-1. In one weekend I got everything put away. It was early July.

I had fed the kids, macaroni and cheese, a regular meal on a limited McDonald’s salary and cleaned up the kitchen when I wandered down the back sidewalk to John-1’s apartment. I found John-2 sitting on the stoop waiting for coals to be ready for whatever was to be grilled. So, I sat down next to him and we talked. Then I asked him, “Doesn’t you wife object to you always coming over here?”  He looked at me and said, “Wife? What wife? I’m not married.”

Let me tell you, lightning bolts do strike when you are suddenly made aware of something terribly IMPORTANT!  At that moment hormones surged, stars lit my eyes, and the soul connection was made visible.

With great effort I controlled myself. I didn’t throw myself upon him then and there. I said, “Well, I’ve got to go. Why don’t you stop by after you eat for iced tea and we can visit.?

I walked back to my apartment, grabbed my keys, got into the “Orange Crush” (a 1971 orange Ford Torino station wagon with holes in the floor board in the back seat) to get the tea, ice, and lemons for the iced tea. I met John-1 at the grocery store and he told me that he was encouraging John-2 to come visit after dinner. Apparently he’d overhead the conversation.

So, what attracted me to my soul-mate? The fact that he was single! (He has blue eyes and delicate hands. And, is pure eye-candy when he wears his black western slacks with a black western shirt trimmed in gold. [I tend to get very possessive when women comment on how hot he looks.])

He proposed in less than 3 weeks. My divorce was final two weeks later. We were engaged for close to six-months (he said it was to give us both time to back out.) We’ve been married going on 34 years now.  He’s the father my kids know best. He’s the love of my life and I’d be lost without him.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 27, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh, this is lovely, Francine. Thirty-four years! Wow! Your feelings come across so vividly, even after over three decades! Here’s to the next thirty-four years! xxx

  2. Thanks, Ali. With luck we’ll still be around, probably leaning on each other as we walk so we don’t fall down or go in opposing circles.

  3. “He’s not my first husband; I had to find my children’s father first.”

    Ha! Love this, and it goes for me, too. Though I added one more chick to the nest after I found the right guy.

Leave a Reply

