To burn or not to burn, that is the question.

There are some spices I like – cinnamon, cloves, allspice, a little bit of ginger. And there are the spices I don’t like – chili (red or green, fresh or dried), paprika, horseradish (or any radish for that matter.) And I’m looked at very strangely when I admit that to my friends and neighbors. I’ve lived in New Mexico almost all my life, especially my childhood years, where we even have a state question “red or green?”

I don’t eat chili because I fear the “outcome” tomorrow or the next day; I don’t eat it because I don’t like the burn in my mouth. When I’ve mistakenly eaten some I haven’t had the revenge or second burn so it appears my digestive system can handle it.

I’ve read about some of the hot chilis of other areas like Southeast Asia (including India, China and Vietnam, Thailand etc.) There’s a particularly hot chili in India that will bring tears to the most hardened mouth. How or why anyone in their right mind would willingly subject themselves to something that kills the taste buds on their tongue and can actually scar their mouth is something I don’t understand. I want to taste my food.

Here in the desert southwest part of the reason for using chili was to mask the taste of rotting meat. Curing meat was somewhat hit or miss and if you put enough chili on it, it didn’t taste so bad and apparently didn’t make you sick either. So maybe it killed off the organisms causing the decay or somehow neutralized the components. I’d give up meat in that case.

I’d rather taste my food and enjoy it than have the food try to cook me with its chemical fire.

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 30, 2014, in Food Related, WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

