What is happiness? (a weekly prompt from Introverts Blog Quietly)

What is happiness? That’s a good question. Some events are supposed to be happy – like when you get married, have a baby,  finally fit into that dress you bought three years ago that was too small, get the house clean and others.  Let’s just look at those.

Get married.  I’ve been married twice.  The first time my mother did all the planning and made my dress. If you look at my wedding picture, I don’t look particularly happy. Considering I later got a divorce, I guess I wasn’t.  The second time we planned the wedding and I made not only my square-dance dress, but my husband’s western shirt, the matron-of-honor’s (my mother) square-dance dress, the best man’s western shirt, my daughter’s dress, my son’s pants and his shirt and the ring-bearer’s pillow. My mother wanted more than just cake and punch at the reception so she arranged for hot and cold canapes.  We had a square-dance reception. I’m smiling in all the pictures. I’m pretty sure I was happy, but it might have been more like relieved that I didn’t have to rush to complete things.  However, I’m still married to him and it’s been over 33 years.

Have a baby – All I remember about having my children was that I was damned glad it was over! Having a baby is HARD WORK!!  And I had easy deliveries.  With my daughter the worst thing that happened was when they got me on the delivery table and tried to put my legs up in the stirrups – I got the meanest charley-horse in my left calf that it almost stopped the contractions. After that they gave me gas (nitrous-oxide) and the rest was a breeze.  I was in hard labor about 20 minutes but had been in the hospital since 7 am. She weighed 6 lbs 7 oz.

With my son I started getting contractions around 10 am while I was visiting a friend  10-15 miles away from home and 10 miles more in city traffic to the hospital. I didn’t leave my friend’s house until close to 4 to go home (going 70 mph on Route 29 in Virginia, in a Dodge Charger scaring everyone out of my way as they thought I was a state trooper.) We got home in 15-20 minutes. By six we (spouse and I) were at the hospital. They broke my water around 8 or so, maybe 9. The spouse couldn’t decide if he wanted to be in the delivery room with me or not and was finally in the dressing room putting on scrubs when I felt my son coming. So here I am being wheeled down to the delivery room with spouse hopping on one foot while trying to get the booty on his other foot. That was around 10. My son was born at 10:20 pm. (another 20 minutes hard labor – like I said, easy) I held my son and had a carton of chocolate milk before midnight. That one was a lot less work than the first one but neither was bad. My son weighed 7 lbs 6(?) oz. Another woman gave birth to a 10 pound+ baby while I was there. I was extremely happy that I hadn’t had to deliver one that big.  But again I was tired and relieved that I was no longer front heavy and wouldn’t waddle quite like a duck any more. But I have to admit that carrying a baby inside you is a lot more convenient that having to hold the child in your arms.

Getting into that dress.  Haven’t done that yet although I have one outfit I’d like to get into. I suspect it will be laughingly out of style when I do. But will I be happy? Maybe, but more likely I’ll be worried that I’ll put the weight back on in less than a year.

Finally get the house clean.  What’s to be happy about that?  I have to do it all over again tomorrow! What’s the point?

But I have been happy. Happiness is when my kids, with or without their kids, can make it home for Christmas. I love getting the house all done up for their arrival, fixing meals for them (guaranteed to put 5 pounds on for a week long stay), making peanut brittle, and just having them around in general.

Happiness is when I reach a new low in my weekly weigh-in at TOPS. At least for the two hours I’m there, then it’s back to watching what I eat and trying to walk more (it really helps if the weather cooperates and is in the 70-74°F temperature range.)

I’m happy when my husband holds me and gives me the 20-second kiss. Actually I’m beyond happy.

Soaking in a tub of hot, soapy, scented water is nice, too. Kind of blissful, really – until you have to get out and freeze ’cause you either forgot to turn on the heat lamp or the air conditioner is running.

So, what’s your happiness? Mine is fleeting, but it seems it does keep coming back for short visits.  And I’m glad for that. If it stayed around all the time it wouldn’t be so special. It would be expected – and nothing to write about.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on May 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happiness for me is quick and unexpected. I’m mostly a peaceful person, but I can get pretty low and suddenly high as a kite. I always look back and wonder what it was that set me off, and find it hard to pinpoint.

  2. Wow. I usually know what’s making me happy. It’s what’s stressing me that I find hard to identify sometimes. Luckily, since I retired I’m not quite as stressed as I used to be.

Leave a Reply

