What do you do when you want “something” but don’t know what?

I WANT SOMETHING.

I hate that feeling, that nebulous, nagging feeling that SOMETHING is missing in my life right now and I’ve got to find/fix whatever is missing.

So I start searching.

How about some Fritos?  Consumed 160 extra calories. Didn’t satisfy me.

How about some Chocolate? Consumed 116 calories. Didn’t work either.

How about some Ritz crackers with peanut butter? Consumed them, but too much trouble to figure out the calories. Still want SOMETHING.

Graham crackers with Smart Balance?  See Ritz crackers; ditto. Still wanting.

Thirsty?  At least it’s no calories. Nope!

Fruit? No, or don’t have any in house that I want.

I’m beginning to think the problem is BOREDOM (or a lack of stimulation.)  And we all know that FOOD is not the answer to boredom, particularly not JUNK FOOD (not that fruit or water is junk food but the other stuff was.)

We eat our lunch and dinner in the living room while watching tv or dvds. I’ve suggested to my DH that we eat our meals at the table and got shot down for that suggestion. (We tried it before and quit.)  I don’t want to eat at the table by myself. So we’ll still eat those meals in the living room. Please note that when we have company, Christmas mainly, we eat at the dining room table.

If I’m not eating, I tend to multi-task while we’re sitting on the couch watching tv or dvd’s (which is from 11 – 1 and  5 – 9 pm every day and I’m expected, at least from dinner until my bedtime at 9, to sit with him) so I read a book/magazine or read/play games on my Kindle which is okay for a while but then I start WANTING SOMETHING (i.e. get BORED.)

I’m sense a pattern here.

I need to occupy my mind and my hands whenever I’m watching TV – especially the cold, wintry kind of days or when I’m not feeling particularly well and I just want to vegetate.

Knitting is a possibility, but not likely in the summer. Besides that, my hands don’t like to hold the needles very long. [But I think I could knit an inch every two or three days and finish that sweater by the end of November.]

I could do Zentangle. I’ve got a lot of patterns saved that I need to learn (i.e. do once in my small sketch book so I can take it instead of the big 3-ring binder) plus I want to “tangle” while on trips so I should draw a batch of strings on the forms so they’ll be ready when I need them.

Most importantly, especially in the afternoon, I need HAVE to get up and leave the couch! (And NOT to get MORE to EAT.)

 

So here it is – My Get-Up-And-Do list

Zentangle

Work on a Greeting Card (I’ve only got materials and instructions for more than 100 not including Christmas cards.)

Weed, water, snip, prune

Take pictures (and improve my photography skills)

Walk (burn those calories, don’t consume them.)

Organize my Digital Scrap Supplies (or my physical ones)

Work on a Digital Scrapbook page

Go through, organize, my physical photos

Start on the heritage albums

Work on the TOPS album

Declutter any room (number them then toss a die, make a spinner then spin it, start at one end of the house and move to the next room in order [when do I declutter the living room if I’m avoiding the tv?])

Order the foot for my Bernina so I can start sewing again (and add clutter to an already majorly cluttered room and closet.)

Order anything I’ve been putting off (except maybe more scrapbooking supplies or the Alienware computer I really want.)

 

What do you do when you WANT SOMETHING but don’t know what?

 

 

 

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on May 9, 2014, in Food Related, General Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

