Monday Fiction: The Visitors

 Daily prompt 

“I knew we should have locked the doors.” I said to my husband as I opened the front door to find two visitors sitting on our couch.

We stood there, arms full of grocery bags and just stared at them, then moved into the kitchen to put down the groceries.

“Close the door to the living room,” I told him, “then we can let the dogs out.”

As he moved to the living room door, I headed into the dining room where we cage our dogs while we’re gone. They tend to get into too much mischief if we don’t.

My husband opened the back door to the back yard as I let the last dog out of her cage. They careened around the table, Daisy’s back feet almost sliding out from under her on the linoleum floor, and out into the yard.

“Now, let’s go deal with the visitors,” I said.

We let ourselves into the living room. They were right where we left them only now one was sprawled across my seat on the couch and the other melted onto my husband’s.

“How on earth did you get in here?”  I asked.

No response. One looked at me and blinked. The other yawned.

“Where do you live?  Can we take you home?”

Nothing.

I turned to my husband.

“Well, dear, it looks like we’re having guests for a while.”

He nodded and turned to go unpack the groceries. I followed.

When we finished with the groceries we let the dogs in. They ran straight to the living room.

We heard not a sound.

I peaked around the door way and saw the two guests were sitting up straight, eyes as big as golf balls. Each one staring at one of the dogs.

The dogs sat and then lay down and put their heads between their paws, thoroughly cowed.

Our guests sat back and relaxed.

And that’s how we came to have two cats as well as two dogs. Life hasn’t been the same since.

The King and Queen had arrived.

 

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on May 19, 2014, in My Fiction, WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice job, Dragonslady. I read it a second time to find all the hints you left foreshadowing the ending.

    I also wrote to this prompt and found it a fun exercise.

    I’m looking forward to the next one that strikes my fancy, how about you? Do you follow all the writing prompts or pick and choose as I do?

    • I tend to pick and choose what I’ll respond to. They have to peak something of interest. This one just happened and it sort of applied to my Monday Fiction category. Wednesdays are supposed to be prompt related (but no promises) and Fridays should be something about scrapbooks or card making. Again – no promises.
      I like your unexpected ending as well. You pulled me in and then you punctured me just as the story ended. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

