Pick Your Gadget

A prompt from Ben Huberman

“Your local electronics store has just started selling time machines, anywhere doors, and invisibility helmets. You can only afford one. Which of these did you buy and why?”

 

I’d buy that anywhere door. After, of course, making sure that the door could be used to return or go further on adventures.  Wouldn’t want to get stuck somewhere and have to find the funds to get back. And that’s also one of the whys – funds.

I like to travel. But there are two things about travel that bug me,  the time and cost to get from where I am to where I want to be – especially when it’s a long distance.

I recently priced airfare for me and my husband to go to the Berkshires in Massachusetts – $3500 for one/ $7000 for two. If I had the anywhere door, I could make my reservations and, on the day of arrival, go through the door and be at our destination. Then when the time was up, we could return home the same way. The money saved would more than pay for the rooms we stayed in (which don’t cost a lot if you trading timeshares,) the car rental, and any foods we consume. We’d have extra for excursions, too.

As for time to get where we want to go, I’d like to visit Australia and New Zealand but I don’t want to be flying for 15 hours.  Being able to just open a door and be there would be fantastic.  No leg cramps from sitting. No feeling and looking rumpled. No airline food.

Now, granted, I suspect there’d be some issues if we tried to use the anywhere door to go to a foreign country – I mean we’d be bypassing customs and I’m sure they wouldn’t like that.  But maybe we could pop in to the customs, show our passports, get them stamped and then open the door to our destination again. We’d really save on air fare.

But I don’t think I’ll find that anywhere door in my  electronics store. I’m sure the travel industry will have bought the technology and buried it deep in their vaults in a file labeled “inventions that would destroy our industry.”

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on May 28, 2014, in WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

