Game of Groans

23 May WP Daily Prompt

Reality Shows are so much fun!  You get these people together who have nothing in common and, some of whom, are so sadly out of shape that they couldn’t survive in their own backyard without a rescue team standing by and then you put them in close quarters in unfamiliar, potentially dangerous environments, add a little bit of competition and watch the fur fly! Divide them into at least two teams and tell them that the best team will win a million dollars.  Then watch the conniving, back-stabbing, underhanded, vicious fun begin. Pacts are made and broken like so much Tijuana pottery.

I especially like the Survivor ones, people get so cut-throat and easily betray each other. What fun. It’s so much fun to watch the one voted off the island try not to cry. And if the wuss gets thrown off, I love the pain in that one. I also love it when the bully who’s been master minding the whole game suddenly finds her/himself voted off and is surprised, oooh how sweet it is! I can just see it now, after the show is over the bully stalks the others on the team and kills them one-by-one.  I know that’s what I’d do.  Revenge is SO SWEET!

But what really gets me going is the Amazing Race types. Five or six teams of two – family members, best friends since grade school, newly weds, and 20-years married folks. At least one couple has a lazy, entitled member and the bossy one.  The married couples are funny; they start out so lovely-dovey each one helping the other and giving encouragement and then when the going gets rough (like heights, drowning, eating bugs) oh do I love watching a marriage break up. They can be so mean.  I actually take notes!  I’ve even been known to go back and watch the show again just to find more goodies!  I like to watch best friends become enemies – especially when one is totally clueless about how the other has felt all these years.   Oh, and brothers and sisters, or just siblings – wow the whole family will bust up because of things said. Such drama!!!!

 

 

 

 

NOT!  I do not watch reality shows at all for all the reasons stated above. What a civilization (or species) finds entertaining says volumes about it. I shouldn’t be too surprised; the Romans had their circuses and we haven’t changed much in the intervening 2000+ years.

On the other hand, watching those shows might give me some ideas for antagonists/villains in my stories. Hmmm…

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on June 4, 2014, in WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

