30 Days – Day 5

The prompt is Things to nurture this month.  I had to look up the definition of nurture because I really don’t have plants to nurture, nurturing our pets is a given and I really want to get my new computer set up and wanted to find a way to nurture that process.  I guess you could say I kind of fudged the definition but these are my lists and I’m allowed to do them any way I want.

Day-05---Things-to-nurture-this-month

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on September 5, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Interesting synchronicity here, Francine; I am writing a very similar list as part of the preparation for the Grail section of the Hallowquest. Clearing and setting things up seems to be a common theme, and possibly relates to a deep seasonal recognition. xxx

    • I don’t know about that but I do know that September is a second January for me, and I suspect for you since you were a teacher for so many years. It’s a time to clean up, clear out and get ready to hunker down for the dark half of the year. And since it is the dark time we’re approaching, it’s also a good time to prepare for quests and even go on a few spiritual journeys while we’re hunkered down.

  2. It’s more of a to do list (my opinion only). Stepping back, I’d say what you’re nurturing this month is your creativity. You’re cleaning mental and physical space to take care and provide for your talents and passions and also setting your future priorities.

    Do you have a good library by you? The Philippe Petit book on creativity is incredible. So is Eric Maisel’s The Creativity Book. If you can afford it, buy them and mark them up. The encouragement is to be creative and that’s what I see coming through your list.

    Nancy

    • Nancy – I haven’t read or bought either of the creativity books you mentioned and may look them up on Amazon. However it’s not so much that I need creativity it’s more that I have to find a way to quit being distracted by all the creative “squirrels” that keep popping up. I’ll get started on one thing then another catches my eye and before I know it I’m off in another forest totally forgetting about the first squirrel that grabbed my eye. I also need to quit buying all those pretty baubles that catch my eye as well. I’m running out of room to store them (one of those pretty baubles is books!) In some respects I sound like I have ADD. I like to think of it as having many varied interests. I’ve been limiting them lately to scrapbooking/card making, writing, and, hopefully, sewing. But I also have to have my books – fiction for the most part but some non-fiction as well (serves as fodder for my fantasy fiction.) Incidentally – I try not to do libraries – I have a tendency to forget to return the books.

  3. I don’t think you have ADD – I think distractions are part and parcel of everyday life. It’s so easy to get sidetracked too! I agree with the varied interests – I love to try it all and then move on to something else. But your comment has given me a valuable reminder to get stuff done and stop being so distracted myself. I’m really enjoying seeing what you’re posting – it’s so different than mine and it’s really helping me think outside the box. I wish there were more on WordPress doing this.

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

