My Grand Project

Today I start on what I consider my grand project: Setting up my new Alienware Aurora computer.  It’s a very big machine.  I have lots of stuff on my current machine that I want on the new one – like all my Adobe products (which will be fairly easy since I’m “on/in the Cloud.”) What will take the longest will be installing everything on the new machine.

I still have to search the internet to find out if I can copy and paste fonts from the font folder on my HP to the one on the new machine. Sure hope so ’cause I’ve got over 600 of the things. I haven’t used all of them by any means but I know I’ve paid for a lot of them and don’t want to lose that.

I have to make sure everything on the desktop and the main drive have been backed-up on to an external harddrive. I’ve done the back up once already but that was in August and I’ve put more stuff in my folders since then. BackBlaze takes care of everything else.

I already have created my 30 Days of Lists for the next five days so all I have to do to post them is copy and paste when the big machine is up.

Maybe it won’t be as tedious as I’m expecting it to be.

Maybe it won’t be as difficult as I suspect it might be.

Maybe it will go so fast I’ll be back up and running by this evening.

Maybe dragons will appear in the sky.

Right.

 

Aurora---waiting-to-be-set-up

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on September 16, 2014, in General Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. J’adore my alienware. Mine was a consolation gift from my husband for me letting him get a motorcycle. Hope you enjoy yours as much as I love mine!

    • Thanks. I’m buying mine myself. Dh is looking for a new computer as well, although his is older than mine. He has resisted a long time as he didn’t want to lose Windows97. Now he’ll have to go to at least 7. I wanted Windows 7 as well – heard too much trouble with 8.

Leave a Reply

