30 Days of Lists – Day 24

Prompt: My favorite authors.

I couldn’t always remember an author’s name, so I had to search the internet for “Science Fiction writers” to find, and in one case, remember, the authors – ex. Piers Anthony and Edgar Rice Burroughs (but not his Tarzan series – never could get into them.) Then I would remember a book (Inferno) and had to find the name of the author. It was the same with Tess Gerritsen – I could remember the tv show based on her series but not her.

If I see a favorite author’s name on a book cover, I’ll pretty much pick it up right a way.  Then I have to scan the back cover and, sometimes, even the first couple of pages to see if I’ve read it before. Usually that’s enough to prevent me from buying something I’ve already read – but sometimes it doesn’t work – that’s one of the hazards of being a speed reader. When I do buy one I’ve read before, I may read it all over again, but a little slower so the story sticks. Of course now that I’ve started buying books for my Kindle, I can’t always determine if I’ve read it from the descriptions. Besides, I still prefer a paperback book to my Kindle for leisure reading.

Day-24---My-favorite-Authors

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on September 24, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

