30 Days of Lists – Day 29

Accomplishments I’m most proud of.

Day-29---Accomplishments-I'm-most-proud-of

My parents were both highly educated employees of a National Laboratory, both completing higher level degrees while they worked – Mother ended up with a Masters in Chemistry and my father has a PhD in physics. I, too, wanted to work directly for the Lab but I didn’t want to try to compete, especially with my mother. So I wanted to work directly for the Lab without a college education. And I did it. Even better, I was very good with a particular software program and ended up teaching a variety of employees how to use this program – it was a Work Management program for maintaining Laboratory facilities. When I left, I had taught craft workers, time keepers, administrative personnel, engineers, scientists and mid-upper level managers. I designed the classes to be relevant to our work environment and am proud to say that I was able to come up with examples that the different employees could relate to.   That is what I consider my best working accomplishment.

Next on my list is quitting smoking after 26 years. I was up to 3 packs a day when I quit and had a bit of an unnerving time of it. Because I was such a heavy smoker, I used the largest (heaviest dose of nicotine) patch – but I forgot one important thing – even though I smoked 60 cigarettes a day, I DIDN’T smoke in my sleep (nor did I get up in the night to smoke.) So I wore that patch 24/7 for the first week and managed, I believe, to give myself nicotine poisoning. I was out of work for six weeks getting over  ataxia (total spacial disorientation.) Now I am 21 years smoke free.

Quitting smoking had an unfortunate side effect – I gained weight, close to 60 pounds in 6 months.  My highest weight was 232 pounds, I’m now down to around 190. (I still have 40-50 pounds to go.) One of the nicest side-effects of losing weight is when I got down to 210, the sleep apnea went away.It’s unfortunate that the weight went on so fast but comes off so slowly. I’m very grateful for my TOPS group for their support and encouragement on this weight-loss journey. Slowly but surely I’m getting there.

What accomplishments are you most proud of?

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on September 29, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts, General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

