Reaction to “Why I don’t want to hire Women”

I read a blog post by a woman who is an entrepreneur. It seems like she really doesn’t like hiring women and has all sorts of problems with them.

I can understand that. I have worked for both men and women and until I worked for “Shelly”, I didn’t like having a female boss. The first boss I had (female), fired me so her daughter could work in my position proving that nepotism isn’t just for men. That was in a field known for female bosses and employees (nursing and administrative support – I was in the latter category.)

Then I had to work for “Rebecca”. Again I was in an administrative support position but this time I was physically removed from being within Rebecca’s sight.  I did my job, did it well and even went further and ended up moving out from under her and into “Shelly'”s realm.

While working for Shelly I found myself working side-by-side with Rebecca.  She had moved on a bit and now had several men working under her. They didn’t like her. She seemed to feel she had to prove herself to them by being overbearing and insisting they do just what she said and exactly how she wanted it done. No free-thinkers or innovative people on her staff.  At least that’s how it appeared to me. I was extremely glad that I’d been lucky enough to be removed from her when I’d worked for her.

Now Shelly was something different. She was manager who was respected not only by her male employees as well as female (although the majority of her employees were male) but also by other managers. She treated me as if I was intelligent (I am) and trusted me to get my work done. She appreciated and encouraged my ability to teach (I have no formal teaching training but I can show people how to work with computers – more so when I know the software being used.) She had her own misconceptions about me (once, when I needed to take a company vehicle to see one of the team the only vehicle available was a truck, she was surprised that I knew how to drive a stick shift.)

Eventually I went to work for two different men (not at the same time), both of whom I got along with. I could go to either one at any time and be heard and my thoughts given a reasonable hearing. My ideas may not have been implemented but at least I was given the opportunity to express myself. In that position I ended up actually teaching a variety of people from administrative and craft workers to engineers, scientists and managers.

During the last stint of my employment I learned something about some men. Our group was tasked with bringing up a new version of the software the company was using for facility management. The two middle “managers” both, at different times, told our boss that it could be done, no sweat. Now, I’d been through two previous upgrades of the software and we were supposed to be implementing more modules as well as upgrading. We were not being given any additional staff nor were any of our on-going duties to be given to anyone else. I told my boss that given those requirements and constraints, it couldn’t be done in the time period given. Unfortunately I was proven right. I learned later, a year after I retired, they still hadn’t completed the implementation.

About that time I retired, I came across a joke about engineers that I saw manifested in my work place.  Two engineers, a man and a woman, were given a task to independently come up with a plan to put something into operation within a 3 month window. They were given a week to come up with the plan. The male engineer walked into the boss’s office within a day of the assignment and told the boss “Yes, we can get it done, no problem” and showed the boss a crude diagram of what he thought had to be done.  The female engineer worked for three days researching and another day to devise and document her plan. On the fifth day she went in to see her boss and presented her work. She told him that three months would not be adequate due to certain constraints and supply issues.  The boss took the man’s plan and had the work started. Two weeks shy of completion the man came back to the boss and told him that they wouldn’t be finished in time. Why? Certain constraints hadn’t been accounted for and supplies didn’t show up when needed because they weren’t ordered with enough lead time. That plan had to be scrapped and the woman’s plan implemented which was completed on her original timetable.  The moral of the story was that men will say yes and then ask for more time where as women plan ahead and get the job done. Obviously the joke isn’t true for all engineers of either sex and it isn’t true for all men and women.

I have found though, that, in general, I prefer to work for male managers and prefer to have more male co-workers than female.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on November 9, 2014, in General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A most interesting, and thought-provoking, post, Francine. xxx

  2. Thanks Alie. It took numerous times to get all the extraneous words out and change the awkward words into meaningful statements.

Leave a Reply

