A Perfect Day Off

This is kind of hard to write about since I’m retired and don’t HAVE to do much of anything I don’t want to.  I have my bi-weekly massage and weekly TOPS meetings and we usually shop in Santa Fe once every 2-4 weeks which kills a Thursday. I visit my father every Sunday for about an hour and we grocery shop for an hour to hour and a half on Saturdays but other than that I’m free to do anything I want.

And there’s the problem. Because I don’t have to be anywhere at a specific time other than those already mentioned, I usually sit in the office and work on my computer. I read emails for 2-3 hours every morning – most of which get deleted – but I really like the photo gallery at UglyHedgeHog and will spend half an hour or more each day looking at the offerings for the day and commenting on a few of them.

I also look at the latest offerings from several digital scrapbooking sites and buy way too many of them.  I’ll download what I buy and might even get them extracted from their zip-files and, if I’m really working effectively, I’ll even get them in the designer’s folder on my external hard-drive.  Note that I didn’t say that I use them to create layouts.  I just store them for “someday.”  I might even have an idea of what I want to use them on but that’s about as far as it gets. (No note or if I do make a note it’s probably on a sticky note that gets put someplace “safe” i.e. I’ll never find it again.)

I’ve also ordered the supplies to make hundreds of greeting cards, mostly Christmas but other occasions as well.  I probably have enough instructions and supplies to keep me busy for at least a year if I made 5 cards a day every day. (Most cards only take an hour, if that. Some, like the British kits, can take 2-3 hours for one.)

So, what am I going to do about this? Well, I’ve dusted off my old Franklin Covey® planner and ordered the refill for 2105. It appears my days are actually chopped up (makes a difference when you start to write about your schedule – you start to see things.  And, no – not that weird spirit-thingy looking over my shoulder.)

I tend to feel I need large chunks of time to get stuff done. In the warmer months and sometimes during the cold ones, I’ll go for a walk with my husband. Because he times his walks to happen at different times (depending on weather, car races, hair-cuts,) I don’t want to get busy and have to drop everything to get ready to walk. Then when I get back, it’s difficult for me to get back into my groove. The mojo disappears.

Hence, the planner.  I figure I can write down my commitments, even if they’re only my commitments to myself (like laundry, working on my book(s), building all the scrapbooks of our various trips and cruises, making cards, sewing (next up, a sewing machine dust cover,) washing my hair [why that is so difficult to get done I don’t know,] write on my blog.)

So, instead of a Perfect Day Off, I’d like to have a workable, productive series of days. But not too rigidly scheduled.  I want my cake and eat it too.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on November 20, 2014, in WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I can absolutely identify with the wish to have one’s cake and eat it too, Francine – know where you are coming from there. You sound incredibly busy! xxx

Leave a Reply

