Soundtrack for a movie of my life

When I look back over my almost 66 years and try to put a sound-track to my life, I tend to come up empty. While not totally boring, at least to me, it hasn’t really been an exciting, momentous life.

I suppose a nautical theme for my birth; I wasn’t born on a boat or a ship, but I was born in Annapolis, Maryland and the Naval Academy grounds have a fond place in my memories (Anchors Away.) I was young, not quite 3 when my parents moved me to New Mexico. I dearly loved the woods near any of our houses and spent a lot of free time there, pretending to ride a horse or, preferably be the horse (Theme from Tubular Bells.) I’d watch Roy Rogers and Gene Autry only so I could see Trigger and Champion.  Never did have a horse, though. Mother figured she’d end up having to take care of it. She was probably right.

My first marriage wasn’t a love match. (Maybe Days of Whine and Roses?) After almost 13 years, I gave up on the marriage when the ex asked our daughter why she ate a piece of lettuce from a salad with her fingers and was satisfied with her “Because I’m stupid” answer. Six months later we were gone. He had never wanted kids in the first place but actually cried that I was taking his son away. (My D-I-V-O-R-C-E or I’ll Be Glad When You’re Gone, You Devil, You)

Then I met and married my current husband. (Happy Days are here again.) We’re in our 34th year of marriage. There have been some ups and downs, usually related to kids growing up and my quitting smoking was a bit of a trip,  but for the most part it’s been smooth and peaceful.  Now I’m in the last third of my life (sounds like I’m going to make it to 100 – not sure about that) and I’m trying to figure out just what I want to do with the rest of my life. (It Was a Very Good Year.)

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on November 21, 2014, in WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

