December 12

Prompt: Traditions I Like

Dec-12

  1. My husband and I always wear matching T-shirts when we travel whether it’s on a vacation or just to the local grocery store. It makes it easy to find each other if we get separated.  Just ask people if they’ve seen someone wearing this T-shirt. Of course, it’s also so we can find each other before one of us spends too much money – Not.
  2. Since our first Christmas together I have made Pecan Rolls for Christmas morning breakfast. And the rule is, since my children were born, that you have to eat breakfast before you can open any presents (stockings excluded.) Now the kids aren’t home and the grandkids are mostly adults so stockings aren’t really part of the picture any more.  But I still insist we eat breakfast first. And pecan rolls are the breakfast for Christmas Day.
  3. FlyLady has date night on Friday night. Our date night moves around depending on what’s going on in our lives – when we worked, we were on a 9/80 schedule. We worked nine hours a day for one week and then had Friday off the following week. So our date night was Thursday. Then when we were both retired, it was Tuesday night but I always seemed to have gained weight Wednesday morning when my TOPS Chapter meets.  So now our date night is Wednesday night. And since the days are so short now and neither one of us is comfortable driving at night, we go out for a big lunch on Wednesday and I cook a light meal on Wednesday night. (This week it was ham & eggs.)
  4. A very good friend and I have dinner together one night during December. She still works so I don’t get to see her very often. Last night was our night. I loved seeing her.
  5. Most likely I’ll get the notice of the open Yule celebration for 21st next week, unless the Unitarian Church is in the throes of remodeling. Then there may not be a celebration.  If that’s the case I’ll really miss it.  Two of my favorite witches are usually there for the celebration. Mother Berta also shows up and threatens to trade toys for children. She says she’ll stuff them in her pack and load them on the cart pulled by Nasher Stagi, a three-legged goat.  It’s all in fun and she gives toys to everyone – even the adults. That’s one night I usually don’t mind going out – unless the roads are snow covered.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 12, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ooh, I love the idea of the open Yule Celebration, Francine – sounds great to me! xxx

  2. It usually is. There’s ritual as well as fun-and games followed by a potluck dinner.

Leave a Reply

