December 13

Today’s Prompt was Current Soundtrack

Recently I’d been without music. Probably close to a year.  I’d gotten a new IPod mini and hadn’t charged it nor loaded it with music. (I still have to set up the speakers in the craft room so I can have my music in there as well.)  Then I got a new computer and had to transfer all the music I had on the old computer. I finally started playing my music a couple of weeks ago and rediscovered Blackmore’s Knight’s “Fires Burn at Midnight.” Candace Knight’s voice is as close as a human can get to an angel’s (IMHO.) She’s not a soprano, no real high pitched sounds. And the Renaissance sounds of Blackmore’s Knight (featuring Ritchie Blackmore and his wife Candace Knight) seem to call to my soul. I could listen to them all day. Usually there’s one song that features Ritchie’s amazing finger work.

But I can be fickle because I’ll switch to Enya rather quickly. And Mannheim Steamroller. I also like Frank Sinatra who didn’t make the list. I like Reba MacIntire and Kenny Rogers, too.  David Arkenstone is amazing. A lot of Disney songs make my play list as well (although “Let It Go” doesn’t thrill me like it does many people.)  In general, I like music that uplifts me. I like music that has a beat that gets me dancing (the Beach Boys.) And, although I am a pagan, music performed by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, especially their Christmas music, is very enjoyable. (I have a large selection of Christmas music, most of not done by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.)

Okay, this is bad.  I just got on-line and searched for Blackmore’s Knight (so I could get her name.) Naturally I ended up on Amazon. And I have a Prime membership.  I bought two Blackmore’s Knight albums (“Autumn Sky” and “Dancer and the Moon”) that I didn’t already have – and then saw one by Loorina McKinnett that sounded good (The Book of Secrets) and ordered it as well.

I just realized, I need to make another playlist of the “feel good” music that features Blackmore’s Knight and the Celtic singers I enjoy and all the romantic sounding music that makes me feel so peaceful and calm.

Dec-13

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 13, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Enya! Oh, yes – you have exquisite taste in music, Francine! xxx

  2. Why,Thank You! How nice of you to say so – I’m sure it’s partly because you have exquisite taste in music as well. Great Minds DO think alike. Right?

Leave a Reply

