December 19

Prompt: Things I will never regret

Being ME! – that’s the number one thing I will never regret.  I’m not ashamed of who I am. I don’t worry a whole lot about what others think of me (it’s usually their loss.) If I go to a party (which is seldom) I don’t need alcohol to have fun.   I can laugh and have fun without having to suffer a hang-over.  And I don’t have to wonder later just what I said.

I love teaching people things that help them at work. I was the go-to-person for how to use a facility maintenance software and eventually became the ‘official’ teacher of the software.

I generally treat children as if they matter, because they do.

I give everyone the benefit of the doubt when I meet them, but if the vibes are weird or uncomfortable – I’ll watch and make sure they’re trustworthy. I won’t let anyone physically abuse me and avoid the psychic vampires (of course I protect myself against them when I know they’re around. You can’t miss the energy drain.)

Dec-19

 

Two and Three are related – my children.  Both times my husband (the first one) knew I was off birth control. Although at times they drove me crazy, I don’t regret having them at all.  Though the marriage didn’t last that long (just under 13 years) I got two wonderful children out of the marriage.

Marrying my current husband.  We’ve been together over 34 years now and come February 14 – will have been married 34 years (he proposed about 5 weeks after I realized he was single and 6 months later we married – he chose the date.) He took me and my children.  I’m sure there have been times when he wondered if it was the right thing to do, but he has stuck with me.  We’ve had less than 10 disagreements in our life together and never a real “fight.”  A few discussions, but no fights.

I’m a Wiccan. I have friends of many faiths who know this. Sometimes it even results in good fun.

For example: one winter day, a few months after I’d come out of the broom closet at work,  it was a bitterly cold morning.

One of the other women in the office (there were three of us and 8 or 9 men) came in and, as she stamped her feet to get the snow off, said loudly, “Damn! It’s colder than a witch’s tit out there!”

The whole office went dead silent.

I answered “I BEG your pardon!  They’re not THAT COLD!”

Everyone in the office erupted in laughter (and more than a little relief.)

Overall, I don’t have many regrets and none that weigh heavily on my mind.

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 19, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

