December 20 and 21

Computer problems are not resolved but are a little better.  I can at least get into PhotoShop and make my lists. Will try to get the rest resolved after Christmas.  Don’t have the time to call support and take 5 hours or more to get it fixed now.

Dec 20 Prompt – Favorite Memories of this Week.

They all concern the TOPS Christmas party. We had fun with the unwrapping of the Secret Santa gifts. With only 6 people there, there wasn’t a whole lot of ‘stealing’ of presents with the ‘grabbing’ game but one present got ‘stolen’ the maximum of 3 times. I was the second to open a gift, but the person after me stole it. After the presents and games we all went home for a few moments (very few for me – only long enough to drop off all my TOPS stuff and my gifts,) then it was out to pick up the first of my three riders, Laurina. When we left Bea’s I called Joanne to let her know we were on our way.

Joanne really does live “out in the boonies”. I’d been there once and got lost along the way. This time I didn’t really get lost but overshot her drive way. Did I mention that it snowed that day?  Yeah, it did – for about 2 1/2 hours. The last 2-3 miles to her house was on a snow-covered, unpaved, washboard, NM clay/dirt, road (it’s on Indian land and heavy tractor-type vehicles drive on it.)  It was an adventure keeping the car “between the ditches.”   We finally got there and drove down her unpaved (non-washboard) drive way. Thank Heavens we have a front-wheel drive Hyundai Elantra.  She performed beautifully. We got on our way and had no problems getting back  to State Road 502 (a four-lane divided highway.)

Fifteen to twenty minutes later we were at Gabriel’s where 8 of us had a great lunch and wonderful time. (Virginia couldn’t make it as her son was visiting for just the one day. Pat came to our luncheon from a meeting in Santa Fe and the two “extras,” Bea and Joanne, that I picked up.)

Then it was reverse the trip. I only overshot Joanne’s driveway a little more than when I’d picked her up but when you’re driving on snow and step on the brakes suddenly, the Anti-Lock-Brake-System starts pumping the brakes – feels like the car is going to shake apart!  I backed up and we made it down into Joanne’s drive way, helped her to her house, then turned around and left again.  The drive down there and back from 502 was okay – the only somewhat iffy times were when we met the FedEx truck, the UPS truck and a jeep (did I mention the road was narrow?)  Finally everyone was safely home, including me.

Dec-20

 

Dec 21 – My Version of Fancy Involves – Fancy is dressed up. It’s a mansion with “staff” and lots of expensive and breakable things. It’s eating dinner at the dining room table and having conversations instead of on the couch while watching TV.  Christmas dinner at my house will be fancy. (Except it’s not going to be spotless -unless I work for the next 3 days making the dining room and living room spotless. Which is an impossibility with a husband, two cats and two dogs.)

Dec-21

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 21, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

