December 22

Today’s prompt: My To-Do List

At this point I’m not really stressing about Christmas.

Dec-22

The last of the cards leave the house today. Some go in the mail, the others we’ll drive around White Rock and deliver them personally.  Want to do that this afternoon when it’s a little warmer.

I’ll start the turkey defrosting in the garage (it stays cool, a little below 40°F – about as cold as my refrigerator, during the winter) so when Thursday comes it will be ready to prep and cook. I’m trying a recipe that has eight slices of bacon (streaky-bacon to my British friends) interwoven  on top of the bird and more (cooked and mixed with onions and sage) stuffed under the skin.  I think it will be good. The gravy has additional bacon in it. I do love my bacon. (But you already figured that out, didn’t you?)

Wednesday will be my busiest day with weighing-in the ladies at TOPS and baking (pecan rolls, pecan pie, sausage-cheese balls). The weigh-in won’t take long but it pulls about an hour-and-a-half out of the middle of the morning. You know that that goes – have to go out in the middle of the morning and, if you’re not careful, the whole day goes down the drain. Even though I have it scheduled, it could still mess things up. I might not want to start baking at 10 after having been out for a while. I probably should make the sweet roll dough around 8  so it can rise while I weigh-in the ladies and be ready to finish when I get back. That will FORCE me to get back in the domestic mode.

And then it will be Christmas Day. DH and I will have pecan rolls for breakfast – it’s our tradition. Dinner will be at 2 pm. My father will arrive at 1 bearing wine. I’ve got smoked salmon and Old Windmill’s Figs & Cream goat cheese to spread on crackers, (Old Windmill is a artisan goat dairy in New Mexico,) and the sausage-cheese balls made on Wednesday for appetizers.  Dinner will be the turkey, wild rice dressing (has to cook in the crockpot for almost 6 hours – I’ll start it by 7:30 am), jellied cranberry sauce (canned – not whole berries), mashed potatoes (instant [with bacon!]) , Brussels sprouts with one ounce of NC salt cured ham (supposed to be Prosutto,) hot rolls and watermelon rind pickles.  For dessert (as if anyone REALLY needs dessert after all that) will be the pecan pie.

[oops!  Just remembered I need to get a pie crust! Looks like I’m hitting Smith’s today when I’m out.]

[Another OOPS! – not only did I buy two packages of the instant mashed potatoes with bacon, I also bought 3 potatoes to mash when we shopped on Saturday. I think I see a Hamburger Hot Dish in one of our future dinners – that will use up some of the potatoes. (sigh)]

All the cleaning and sweeping may or may not get done today. Since Christmas is still 4 days away, it doesn’t do a lot of good to sweep the linoleum floors – the cats and one dog (the other is a poodle) will make sure there are more dust bunnies (or kittens) by then, but I really should mop. I do need to get the living room cleared, though. I want to vacuum the couch, love-seat, and recliner and spray them all with FeBreeze® before Christmas. And the living room carpet needs a really good vacuuming, too.

The thaw dinner is my reminder that the Hamburger Chowder is in the freezer and if I don’t get it out soon, it will still be hard as a rock when it’s time to heat it up.  [One minute later] Okay – #7 can be crossed off.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 22, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

