December 23

Today’s prompt: I Find Magic In

Dec-23

 

For years now, I’ve had a fantasy world called Heartshorn. I have written one book which needs revision and a second which is mostly in my head but is gradually being put into Scrivener©.

On Sunday, Dec 21, Yule, I attended an open Wiccan ritual. As part of the ritual there was a wreath made from real pine. The Priestess’s told of an old custom of making a commitment at this time with hands placed on the wreath for the coming year.  Later, in January when the coven meets, the wreath will be burned in a fireplace and the commitments made will rise with the smoke into the sky where the Gods/Goddesses will witness them (and hopefully help us to achieve what we’ve committed to.) We didn’t say resolve or resolution – those words seem to have lost their strength. But to commit to something – that has a more binding feel.

My Committment: I commit myself to show my love of Heartshorn, it’s inhabitants from the lowliest worm to the greatest dragon, to Earthside, the dominion of Man and Dragons, to the struggles and successes of both worlds by having two of the five book series ready for publication by the end of 2015.

To that end, I shall work one hour every day on one of the two books. It will be the first thing I do after my morning routines before I read email or get on Facebook.  Every day for one hour. Even when on a cruise.  Or when at Pagosa Springs in summer. Or when traveling to California. That means taking a computer/tablet when we travel. It means taking a timer or making sure there is a timer on the computer/tablet as well and the Software, too. I should be able to post things to my Dropbox, too, for when I return home.

Whew!  Guess it’s really and truly on my mind.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 23, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts, My Fiction. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! Great post, Francine. Loved the Wiccan wreath ritual – sounds like something I once took part in when working with another lodge. Wonderful news about your determination on the novel front. Very best of luck! xxx

  2. Thanks Alie. I’m thinking of doing a daily post of how many words or some synopsis of what I did in that hour. Might make me more accountable. But then being accountable is kind of scary.

Leave a Reply

