Dec 25

Prompt: I Would Like to Remember

Dec-25

I started out with a list that mainly related to getting Christmas dinner on the table at 2 this afternoon. Then looking at it, I decided it wasn’t really what I Would Like to Remember.

Yesterday I made pecan rolls, pecan pie and sausage cheese-balls. Then I covered them and stored them in the refrigerator (the pecan rolls) or the garage (pecan pie & sausage cheese balls.) Although there’s some intense cooking today, it will be spread out. While the bird is resting I’ll be able to heat the rolls and make the Brussels sprouts recipe.

Here’s the dinner menu:

  • To Drink
    • a Riesling wine that my father is bringing
    • water
  • Appetizers –
    • Sausage Cheese-Balls, warmed,
    • Crackers and smoked salmon,
    • Crackers and herbed goat cheese.
  • Main Dish and sides
    • Bacon wrapped turkey
    • Wild Rice Dressing
    • Bacon Mashed potatoes (especially for my DH)
    • Brussels Sprouts with Salt-cured ham
    • Mashed candied sweet potato with marshmallow topping (for me and my father if he wants.)
    • Hot rolls with watermelon-rind pickles.
    • Cranberry Sauce (jellied (not whole berry), from a can)
  • Dessert (If anyone still wants some) – Pecan Pie

Where are the pecan rolls, you ask?  They’re for breakfast this morning. It’s a tradition I started at least 27 years ago, maybe closer to 33. My parents insisted that I eat breakfast before we opened any of the presents (except what I found in my stocking at some ungodly early hour.) I continued that with my kids. I don’t know when I made the breakfast special by making the pecan rolls. This year I made them up and cooked them.  I used to mix up the dough and make the rolls, but I’d refrigerate them in the pan overnight.  When I cooked them the next morning they were over-proofed (rose to high – found out THIS year that yeast breads have a tendency to rise too much at higher elevations. We live at 6,500 ft. [Talk about your “DUH” moment!]) I had wondered why I had such problems. We’ll heat them up in the microwave and have them this morning.

John and I don’t really exchange gifts at Christmas.  It’s hard enough coming up with ideas for the kids to give us, much less for each other. We decided during our clean up yesterday that we need some really good lamps in the living room and a vacuum cleaner with a LOT of suction. So that’s going to be our house gift this year and we’re not going to Walmart, KMart or Target for them. Too often we find that either they aren’t well constructed or that someone took parts out of the box and so the item isn’t complete. (Last year our mutual gift was a plush electric blanket for our king sized bed. We’re really enjoying it this winter.)

Merry Christmas to all my friends in cyberspace.

 

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 25, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts, Food Related, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Merry Christmas Francine and thank you for all your posts which I have enjoyed this year. Especially like the details about food. At 0.01 Christmas is over. My three children and husband are asleep and I am having a peaceful time after a lovely day. Wow at 6500ft you are high up. I am on a slight incline just out of the village where Ali lives but not much above sea level. There is a wooded hill with lovely views across the valley just behind our house. No snow here though.

  2. Thanks Lou. If you look at Dec 26 you’ll see pictures before and after cooking the bird. The one after is a scan of the photo in the magazine. Everything wen’t very well and now to get ready for the new year.

Leave a Reply

