December 26

Prompt: I Am Grateful for

Dec-26

Starting at the bottom of the list:

  • #6 – Our Health.  My DH and I are healthy. I’m a Type II Diabetic but my numbers and, hence my sugars, are steadily coming down. I have some aches and pains that will be alleviated by more exercise and a moderation of my eating – sure to occur when the left-overs are gone. We both are on Cholesterol medication which has lowered our levels to healthy levels.
  • # 5 – I’m glad that I don’t live in a castle.  No matter how romantic the notion is, rock walls are not the warmest things. That’s why they had massive wall hangings on most walls.  Castles are drafty and the floors are cold and hard.  Stairs tend to be well worn and can cause trips and falls. Plus, if the rise is high enough to limit the number of steps to the next floor, they are so high that some people would have a very difficult time ascending and descending.  If the rise is a comfortable height, then the stairs go on “forever” and you’re out of breath before you reach the top. Castles weren’t built with indoor plumbing – they had garderobes – open shafts in a “discreet” corner where one could perch and “let ‘er rip” so-to-speak. I imagine the stench could be quite potent.  I’m also glad I don’t live on a farm.  The amount of cleaning and cooking that I did for Christmas would be a daily occurrence for a fair sized working farm. That would also be true for the castle as well.
  • #4 – Both my kids were at my son’s house and all of my grandchildren as well.  They called shortly after we’d opened our presents and they’d opened theirs. It was great to hear from all of them. My son and daughter also call at other times of the year (and not for money.) My daughter and I talk most days when she’s driving home after her graveyard shift. And my son will email and both are also on Facebook as am I so we have contact frequently during the year.
  • #3 – We have two cats and two dogs.  They provide lots of loving, entertainment and aggravation which keeps us young.
  • #2 – One of our three excursions this year was a week-long stay at a timeshare in Massachusetts. For more than 3 years, probably closer to 5, I’ve kept an article from Woman’s World magazine that featured the Berkshires of Massachusetts in my file cabinet under travel. We finally made the timeshare trade for this year. We had a great time and eventually I’ll get the trip put in a scrapbook. We were busy almost every day and I did all the driving.
  • #1 – My father drove down from his house (about 20 miles away) to join us for Christmas Dinner. He brought the wine (1.5 L – a VERY tall bottle,) a Riesling imported from Germany.  It was a very good wine, eminently drinkable. As I published on yesterday’s blog, our main dish was bacon-wrapped turkey.  Below are two pictures of our bird before I put it in the oven and the picture on the recipe of a finished bird.  We sat down to eat at 2:15. We enjoyed great conversation and all the food on the menu. The turkey hadn’t picked up the bacon flavor but the gravy had. No one wanted dessert immediately after. Around 4 we sent my father home with a slice of the pecan pie and it was 7 or later, while we were watching Modern Problems, when DH and I had our pieces.  All-in-all it was a very good day. (And when I went to bed around 9:30, all the dishes were washed, most had been put away, and the kitchen was clean.)

Christmas-Turkey

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on December 26, 2014, in 30 Days of LIsts, Food Related, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A lovely post, Francine – I enjoyed reading it. xxx

  2. Thanks. Had to stop to eat breakfast and download two pictures and scan the picture in the recipe. That’s why I’m a lot later this morning.

Leave a Reply

