Writing Update

Have completed the 8th day of the year working on Brede.  Yesterday I worked on settings, getting the descriptions right.

Today I got a bit confused as to my timing.  Some rework being done so that not everything happens in one day.

Decision Made – even though magic users can move to new locations by picturing them in their minds, most prefer to walk. (Incidentally – the words I use for this magical movement are somewhat limited as I can’t use shift, blink, orb or any other word that is used in other novels, TV shows or movies.  Maybe I’ll just use teleport – I don’t think that word was invented for a fictional writing.)  Using manna for instant travel is a drain on the user. So goblins will walk, run, crawl, leap, scurry – whatever I eventually decide is their common mode of travel. They are quick but also somewhat erratic.

Now I’m having to insert notes in my “plan”/outline to indicate the day of the occurrences.  The whole book will take place in the six weeks between the old celebration of Imbolc (essentially around Ground-hog day in the US) and the Vernal Equinox (first day of spring.)  My heroine will have to travel 100 miles, as the raven flies, into the Mordant Mountains to Mt. Blessing. Her path is not a straight line as is true for anyone hiking in continually higher and more rugged hills and mountains. And, of course, weather will be an issue as well since this is the time between the end of winter and the beginning of spring.

 

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on January 8, 2015, in Brede, My Fiction. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

