Catching up with cards, writing update

Card making: Yesterday I made several cards and now have 13 made for the year (I’m ahead by 2.) I’ve finished with the Pretty Pearls set and will start another set today or tomorrow depending on how busy things get for me. I’ll probably the work on the Radiant Roses set next, then one of the Christmas sets. All the sets I’m working with right now are by Hunky Dory, a company in England.  Unfortunately some of the work is intricate enough that I find myself hunched up with my shoulders darn near touching my ears.  My massage therapist will not be happy if I keep that up.  Wonder if I can find a way to hang some heavy weights off my shoulders to hold them down.   Probably not.

Writing: It’s 11 days into January and I’ve been writing at least an hour a day on fleshing out the outline/characters/settings needed. Along the way I’m discovering more about Heartshorn and the path Brede travels.

It’s getting somewhat tricky determining how far Brede travels and what the date should be. Since I’m not a hiker I have no feel for how long it should take traveling on foot with a burro. Some people can walk 10-20 miles a day but I suspect that’s mostly at sea level and during good weather.  Brede is traveling, at first, slightly upstream from her 5,000 foot elevation homestead. She’ll be climbing quite a bit after a while and won’t be going in a more-or-less straight line. So while she may cover 10-20 miles, a lot of it will be going around hills, up and down, in wilderness. Luckily for her, there is a trail she can follow all the way, that is assuming a void intrusion doesn’t cut the path forcing her to go around.

I also do more research off and on during the day. I’ve got some sources that are helping me with the settings right now.  I still need to research the various magical items that Brede will need/use along the way.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Brede, Greeting Cards, My Fiction. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

