Organizational Challenge

I’m somewhat hesitant to actually post this as my track record for doing anything more than 3 days in a row is rather poor.

Besides occasionally posting on my Dragon Droppings blog, I also do scrapbooking (mainly digitally), card making (greeting cards – birthdays, holidays, just-because, etc.), take pictures, write fantasy fiction, and sometimes sew. I do my scrapbooking, for the most part, on my big computer (an Aurora R4) in the “computer room” [used to be my daughter’s room when she lived at home.] But the card making and sewing are done in the “craft room” [my son’s room when he lived at home.]

This is all about the craft room. It’s gotten to the point where I can’t really do anything in there. So, when Scrapbook.com said they’ve made changes, I checked out the site and came across their Get Organized class (at the bottom of the list of classes.)  Now, several years ago I “took” the class, downloaded all the instructions, printed each lesson and put them in a large binder which I promptly put away on a shelf and never looked at it again. (Best intentions, of course.) Fast forward to now – I actually found the binder and have started the first week.

I read the lesson and discovered that we’re supposed to do a layout – a Before version – of our scrapping place. Then, when everything is organized, we’ll do an “After” layout. While we do the Before layout we’ll be assessing our scrapping place. (where are the products I need; is it working for me; what is a potential solution?) Since I mainly do greeting cards with glue and paper, I’ve decided that I’ll also make at least one card while going through the assessment.

On Saturday, I took pictures of all the areas in the scrap room and closet and ended up with 38. Then I did the first step which was to clean off your scrap place. My work space was so cluttered that I opted to do the A choice which was to take everything off the scrap place and put it all in a box (any tools that showed up that had regular locations were put there – for me it was scissors and my glue glider – everything else ended up in two boxes.)

Yesterday I printed 22 of the photos (the remaining 16 are just of the closet), chose the ones for the Before layout, and put them in a photobox. These are the three I’ve chosen. The first is my work space – the place where I do any layouts and make cards. The second is the cubbies under the left side of the work space. The third is the cubbies under the right side of the work place. The work place is  54 inches wide and 25 inches deep.

Get-Organized-Before-(1-of-36) Get-Organized-Before-(35-of-36) Get-Organized-Before-(34-of-36)

After that I used the clean work space to start my layout which I have put away (in a bookcase) for the time being, in my page-in-progress box that I’ve had and not used for many years. The box has a metallic component and 15 small magnets to hold un-glued items in place.

Today I’ll work more on the assessment and add to the page – choose one or two patterned papers, maybe a few embellishments and start gluing things down. I’ll take a picture of the “Before” layout when it’s finished. Then I’ll start on the first of possibly two cards as part of the assessment process (with pictures to follow.)

Twenty-seven weeks would put me finishing around Oct 3.  But I know that we’ll be out of town for a week in July and that we’ll have company for several days in June so I’m giving myself until the end of October to have the craft room organized.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on March 30, 2015, in Organizing, Scrapbooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

