Organizational Challenge – Week 2

The week we were supposed to dream – a dream of the ideal day of scrapbooking from waking up and going into your ideal scrapping place: a place that is clean and clutter-free and where everything you need is in the best spot for your work and you know where it all is. Then we’re supposed to look around this ideal-for-you-space and actually envision what is where. What kind of containers do you have – not that you’re going right out to get them, just picture what would work for you. Right now you don’t worry about finances or space constraints.

Then we were to look at our filled in Assessment and locate our first problem. Why is it a problem and what would make it easier, and how can I improve it.

Okay – here’s where I stopped. Although I had looked at my space and seen the mess, I couldn’t see my dream in it. Two things came to mind.  One, I had to get the floor clean! I was almost always tripping as my feet would run into a box when I tried to get to something. At my age, I don’t need to trip, much less fall. Ergo the number one priority is a clear floor. So I moved ahead a week and started sorting things and getting them out of the room until I had space for them. If you look at the picture of the desk area, you’ll see I have rolling cart there with a lid (and basket of cleaning supplies) on it.  In that cart is my “in-box” which doesn’t have a permanent location yet and in that are several cans with mainly pens and a few other of my go-to craft supplies. I’m keeping that there so I can still work on cards and/or layouts while I go through this process.

Scraproom clean-up (2 of 3)

I have already put my laptop on the desk.  I’ve realized that I really need to have an inventory of what stuff I have – that means an EXcel spreadsheet (or 20). And, when I get to the various markers and ink pads, I need to make sure they’re usable and either buy the refills/re-inkers or throw them out.  The other decision or actually realization I made was that I like to see where my supplies are, so closed spaces aren’t going to work very well for me. Even with labels, I still want to be able to actually see them. That means I’ll be getting more clear plastic boxes, bags, whatever, to put the stuff in.

Next week is our Choose Your Challenge week. There are two Challenges: one is to address only one problem area and two is to jump right in and start from scratch. I already know that I can’t logistically work #2 as it’s to take everything down and sort it into boxes then move all the boxes out of the room and bring the boxes back in one by one. We’d have to clear out the garage to make that much room. Challenge one is sort of what I’ll do but not quite. I know that week four is cardstock – I’ve decided that I want all my paper or paper-like supplies to be together – that includes not only my cardstock but also my patterned paper and I want both my 12 x 12 stuff and my 8.5 x 11 cardstock and patterned papers together as well as all my blank cards with their envelopes. I have some colored blank cards and envelopes that will also have to be in that area but I’m going to get rid of the extra colored envelopes that don’t have card blanks to go with them. Cardstock/papers need to be in a well lit area as well. I’m thinking of clearing out a bookcase in the north corner and using that for the paper supplies.There is a light there but I may be changing the shade on it to be less intrusive.

Scraproom clean-up (3 of 3)

The current storage of my cardstock.

Scraproom clean-up (1 of 3)

My scrapping area. The large note book on the table is the notebook for the project. It’s quite large and is mostly filled.

Scraproom clean-up (1 of 1)

This is the corner where I “might” put the papers.

I would have major issue here with the paper change – only the bottom shelf is tall enough to put my 12 x 12 paper in. I will have to empty these two bookcases (which I’d have to do sometime anyway) and the shelves on the east side, switch them around (and I don’t know if I have the room to put the bookcases in the same spot as the shelves are in now. An additional issue is the narrow cart in front of the bookcase with the plastic boxes on top (as well as at least two empty 12 x 12 albums.

So first thing I have to do is measure the shelves and then measure the space the bookcases take up. From there we’ll see where we go.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 10, 2015, in Organizing, Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

