Four Things that Make me Smile

Lots of things can made me smile; some even when I’m unhappy.

1. The purr of either of my cats. They have such such beautiful purrs and when they rev it up it’s almost magic in the way they make me feel.

2. A colorful sunrise or sunset. I’m blessed to live in an area where I frequently see gorgeous turquoise-orange-and-fushia sunrises and turquoise-gold-orange-red-and-purple sunsets. (It helps that I’m an early riser and the window near my computer faces east.)

3. The scent of vanilla. Did you know that the most common bottles of vanilla sold actually have corn syrup added? Now I read the label before buying – I don’t need the extra sweetener added. I suspect they did that because people liked the smell and so they sampled it and found out that the pure vanilla extract is bitter. But it wasn’t intended to be drunk straight from the bottle – it was intended to be put in a batter and mixed with other ingredients that included sugar which really enhanced the taste.

4. The feel of a plush acrylic yarn, velour, velvet or certain cat’s furs. One of my cats is a long-hair but not a Persian or Persian mix. Her fur is soft like velvet and very seldom has knots in it (and I dont brush her.) We’ve had her for almost 13 years and I found the first knot a few weeks ago. We’ve had another long-hair who did knot up frequently and needed to have the knots cut out but our first one was like our current long-hair – virtually knot free his entire life. – We also have an electric blanket that is soft, probably made of acrylic, that brings a smile to my face when I get in bed at night. We have some other non-electric blankets made of an acrylic plus that actually can make one feel warm just with the softness of the material.

So there you have it – four senses, four smiles.

What makes you Smile?

DP 

1. peacefulblessedstar

2. tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

3.hullygullytime

4. b.kaotic

5. Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

6. 365 Days of Gratitude

7. All Smiles|Love.Books.Coffee.

About frncnseal585

Daughter, wife, mother, grandmother, retired from gainful employment. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. I love to travel (we cruise, go to Pagosa Springs and take one other trip every year) I like to digitally scrap book (all that traveling), make greeting cards (all occasion & Christmas), write fantasy fiction (got two, maybe three books in the works right now), and photography. I generally participate in most of Kam of Campfire Chic and Amy of Lemon and Raspberry's 30 Days of Lists challenges and also in Lain Ehman's LayOut a Day (LOAD) challenges.

Posted on April 7, 2014, in General Musings, Uncategorized, WP Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

Leave a comment